Senator Schumer Says We Have Three Branches Of Government: The House, The Senate And The President

The left is fond of mocking conservatives for being ignorant. When Sarah Palin flubbed and said North Korea instead of South Korea, the left roared with collective laughter. When Rep. Michele Bachmann mispronounced Iwo Jima, Chris Matthews was apoplectic.

But now here Senator Chuck Schumer listing the nation’s three branches of government as the House, the Senate and the President.

Now, I’m sure the Senator knows that the three branches of the federal government are the Congress (made up of the House and the Senate), the Executive and the Judicial branch. I’m sure this was just the sort of verbal flub anyone could make on-air.

But imagine if Michele Bachmann or Sarah Palin or even, say, Paul Ryan had done it. The left would be all over it. But somehow, I don’t expect the Huffington Post to be running any snarky exposes on this particular verbal gaffe.

Rob Port

Rob Port is the editor of In 2011 he was a finalist for the Watch Dog of the Year from the Sam Adams Alliance and winner of the Americans For Prosperity Award for Online Excellence. In 2013 the Washington Post named SAB one of the nation's top state-based political blogs, and named Rob one of the state's best political reporters.

Related posts